Widows/ Widows II [TV Series] (1983)

Run Time - 50 min.  |   Countries - UK  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Created by Lynda LaPlante, the British TV drama series Widows focused on the wives of three professional criminals, all of whom were apparently killed during a bungled robbery. Taking matters in their own hands, the widows, led by Dolly Rawlins (Ann Mitchell), vowed to finish the larcenous job that their husbands had started, and to wreak vengeance on those responsible for their widowhood. They were joined by a fourth woman, Bella O'Reilly (played first by Eva Mottley, then by Debbie Bishop), who claimed that her boyfriend was also part of the original caper. First telecast from March 16 through April 20, 1983, Widows was followed by Widows II, which aired from April 3 to May 8, 1985. On this occasion, it was revealed that one of the "dead" husbands was still alive, and very insistent that he be cut in on the loot. The subsequent rounds of betrayal and backstabbing culminated in a third series, She's Out. Widows was remade for American television in 2002.