The Shape of Life (2002)

Genres - Nature, Science & Technology  |   Sub-Genres - Animals, Biological Sciences  |   Run Time - 60 min.  |   Countries - United States   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The rise of the animal kingdom, as chronicled by ongoing scientific discoveries through the ages, was the focal point of this eight-part TV documentary series. A coproduction of the Sea Studios Foundation and National Geographic Television, The Shape of Life dwelt upon a different aspect of multi-celled life in each episode, with a different (and often little-known) animal species highlighted per one-hour program. Episode titles included "Origins," "Life on the Move," "The First Hunter," "The Conquerors," "Survival Game," "Ultimate Animal," "Explosion of Life," and "Bones, Brawn, and Brains." Debuting April 2, 2002 on PBS, The Shape of Life was originally broadcast in weekly two-hour blocks, with two episodes shown back-to-back.