The Enid Blyton Secret Series (1997)

Run Time - 90 min.  |   Countries - United States   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The author of nearly 600 children's stories, and the creator of such enduring characters as Noddy and the Secret Seven, British writer Enid Blyton was a "natural" for TV-series adaptation, as proven by a brace of mid-'90s programs bearing her name in the title. The second of these, which first aired over Britain's Channel 5 beginning December 29, 1997, bore the title The Enid Blyton Secret Series. Basically, the series consisted of updated versions of Blyton's novels of the 1940s and 1950s, with a group of bright and precocious youngsters solving mysteries and catching crooks with the greatest of ease. Like the earlier Enid Blyton Adventure Series, this project was largely produced by New Zealand's Cloud 9 Productions. The five individual story arcs of The Enid Blyton Secret Series, each consisting of four half-hour episodes, included "The Secret Island," "The Secret of Spiggy Holes," "The Secret of Killimoon," "The Secret of Moon Castle," and "The Secret Mountain."