The Age of Flight: X-Planes (1990)

Genres - Science & Technology  |   Sub-Genres - Vehicles & Transportation  |   Run Time - 60 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Age of Flight, a 12-volume series, presents a comprehensive history of aviation, from man's earliest attempts to conquer the wild blue yonder to the development of sophisticated experimental crafts and advanced technology. Archival photography and aerial footage illustrate the fascinating stories of the men, women, and events that defined the evolution of flight. Volume ten, X-Planes offers a look at experimental aircraft and the men who risked their lives to fly them. The "X" designation was taken from the phrase "experimental supersonic," a term that applied to a family of experimental aircraft built solely for flight research. This program depicts the bold feats undertaken by test pilots, the Wright brothers, Chuck Yeager, and NASA pilots as they executed never-before-performed maneuvers. Other titles in The Age of Flight series include Mig Alley, Choppers, Dawn of the Jet Age, Jets - The New Generation, Lift Off to Space, Aces, Bombers, Kitty Hawk, The Story of Naval Power, Rolling Thunder, and Modern Warplanes.



airplane, aviation, experiment, flight, flying