Slow Boat From Surabaya, Vol. 6: Red Pride, Red Sorrow (1992)

Run Time - 55 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Slow Boat From Surbaya is a six-part series exploring the influences of Western, Islamic, Indian, and Chinese cultures on South East Asia. It delves into cultural complexities and the unique synergy generated from the region's rich past and dynamic present. Volume six, Red Pride, Red Sorrow, reveals the dynamic business acumen of the Vietnamese and conveys how they have fused the principles of capitalism with their resilience and patience. The birth of modern Vietnam is contrasted by neighboring Kampauchea, a country plagued by strife. Other programs in the series are Post Colonial Waltz, Diplomatic Thais, Filipinas -- The Women of the Phillipines, Five Faces of God, and Rich, Clever, Homeless.