Slow Boat From Surabaya, Vol. 4: Five Faces of God (1992)

Run Time - 55 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Slow Boat From Surbaya is a six-part series exploring the influences of Western, Islamic, Indian, and Chinese cultures on South East Asia. It delves into cultural complexities and the unique synergy generated from the region's rich past and dynamic present. Volume four, Five Faces of God, reveals the hidden meanings of rites and rituals of the South East Asian religious communities. The program explores the customs dictated by Islam, Hinduism, Christianity, and Buddhism, and the effect followers have on influencing the events of their worlds. Other programs in the series are Post Colonial Waltz, Diplomatic Thais, Filipinas -- The Women of the Phillipines, Rich, Clever, Homeless, and Red Pride, Red Sorrow.