Slow Boat From Surabaya, Vol. 2: Diplomatic Thais (1992)

Run Time - 55 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Slow Boat From Surbaya is a six-part series exploring the influences of Western, Islamic, Indian, and Chinese cultures on South East Asia. It delves into the cultural complexities and unique synergy generated from the region's rich past and dynamic present. Volume two, Diplomatic Thais, examines the political plays keeping Thailand free from foreign rule. Known as Siam until 1939, it is the only South East Asia nation never to have been occupied by outside powers. Other programs in the series are Post Colonial Waltz, Filipinas -- The Women of the Philippines, Five Faces of God, Rich, Clever, Homeless, and Red Pride, Red Sorrow.