Scelsi: The Piano Works 3 - Aki Takahashi

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 86 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The eccentric and iconoclastic Twentieth-century Italian composer Giacinto Scelsi - notorious for authoring entire classical pieces built around one pitch (or note), and for his embracement of improv in lieu of more traditional melodic composition - receives a new interpretation in the concert film, Scelsi - The Piano Works 3: Aki Takahashi. In this home release, Japanese pianist Takahashi - one of only a scant few musicians who collaborated with Scelsi during the latter's brief window of fame from the mid-1980s until his death in 1988 - performs six of Scelsi's original pieces: Sonate No. 3, Quatro Illustrazione, Cinque Incantessimi, Suite No. 10 'Ka', Aitsi and Un Adieu.