Phineas Newborn, Jr. Trio/Duke Jordan Trio: Masters of Modern Jazz Piano (1985)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 54 min.  |   Countries - United States   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Synopsis by Nathan Southern

One in a series of jazz concert film releases that present back-to-back compilations of unrelated gigs, this opens with footage long thought lost, originally filmed for a Los Angeles-area television show in November 1962 and headlined by the Phineas Newborn, Jr. Trio (pianist Newborn, drummer Kenny Dennis and bassist Al McKibbon). Their selections include "Lush Life," "Oleo," "New Blues" and several more. The second set jumps ahead to Copenhagen, Denmark's Club Montmartre in early April 1985, for a set headlined by the Duke Jordan Trio (pianist Duke Jordan, Jesper Lundgaard on bass, and Age Tandgaard on drums). Their selections include "Gone with the Wind," "Jordu," "Dances a Ball," and a medley of "Lush Life" and "Solitude."



concert, Denmark, jazz, trio