The Peacock Spring (1996)

Run Time - 180 min.  |   Countries - UK  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Based on a novel by Rumer Godden, the two-part British miniseries The Peacock Spring took place in Delhi, India, in 1959. Hattie Moraham starred as Una Gwithin, 15-year-old daughter of the recently appointed U.N. diplomat to the region. Una caused shock waves to ripple throughout what was left of the British empire when she fell in love with a charismatic (and extremely self-absorbed) Indian poet named Ravi Batticharya (Naveen Andrews). Further complicating the story is the curious animosity between Una's father and her Eurasian governess Alix (Jennifer Hall). The Peacock Spring originally aired in 1996.