Mstislav Rostropovich/Benjamin Britten: Tchaikovsky/Britten (1970)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 68 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

This classical performance release brings together two separate concerts by the English Chamber Orchestra, mounted at Snape Maltings Concert Hall in Aldeburgh, England. First on the bill is a June 16, 1968 set featuring Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo Theme, op. 33, Pezzo capriccioso op. 62 and Romeo and Juliet - Fantasy Overture.Benjamin Britten conducts, with contributions by solo cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. The release then jumps forward to another concert, mounted in the same venue on June 5, 1970; it features extracts from Benjamin Britten's Gloriana, op. 58, with contributions by The Aldeburgh Festival Singers and tenor vocalist Peter Pears.



classical-music, concert, orchestra