M.J.Q. Plus Dave Brubeck and Thad Jones-Mel Lewis

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The ninety-minute home release M.J.Q. Plus Dave Brubeck And Thad Jones-Mel Lewis offers a selection of vintage archival jazz performances by the artists of the title, culled from various 1960s American TV broadcasts. The aforementioned individuals perform separately (not together), each combo appearing as a single act. Numbers here include: "The Golden Striker," "If I Were Eve," "Winter Tale" and "Lonely Woman" as interpreted by the MJQ; the infamous "Take Five," "[It's A] Raggy Waltz" "Castilian Blues", "Waltz Limp" and "Blue Rondo a la Turk" interpreted by The Dave Brubeck Quartet; and "Just Blues", "St. Louis Blues," "Kids are Pretty People," and "Don't Get Sassy" as performed by Thad Jones and The Mel Lewis Orchestra.