Martha Graham: Three Contemporary Dances (1984)

Genres - Dance  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Jazz & Modern Dance  |   Run Time - 85 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The three pieces presented include two from the mid-'40s (Errand into the Maze and Cave of the Heart) and one from 1980 (Acts of Light). Errand takes its title from a poem by Ben Belitt and is based upon the Greek myth of Ariadne. To music by Gian Carlo Menotti and a minimalist setting by Isamu Noguchi, Graham choreographs Ariadne's horrifying journey into the maze, where she confronts the terrifying Minotaur and conquers her fears. Cave, set to music by Samuel Barber, also retells a Greek legend, that of Medea. After helping Jason steal the Golden Fleece from her homeland, Medea bore him children and expected to be his one love. When he leaves her for another, she exacts a horrible vengeance, killing their children and ascending in a Chariot of Fire to the gods from whom she was descended. Acts is simpler, lighter and more abstract, beginning with two lovers alone onstage who are gradually joined by an entire company in shimmering silver bodystockings, who celebrate the joyousness of life and love.



choreographer, modern-dance