Margaret Leng Tan: George Crumb's Makrokosmos I & II (2004)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 110 min.  |   Countries - USA  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Explore the infinite possibilities of the piano with "extended piano" proponent Margaret Leng Tan in a release that showcases the remarkable creativity of George Crumb's experimental "Makrokosmos" compositions. By introducing a virtuoso hybrid of conventional keyboard techniques and unconventional techniques that expose the inner workings of the piano and call on the player to whistle, chant, and whisper, Tan boldly brings Crumb's "extended piano" compositions into the new millennium for a whole new generation of music lovers.



experimental [arts], instrumental-music, keyboards [music], pianist, piano