Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part seven, Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, employs narration, live-action, and museum artifacts to convey the innovative powers of the early Chinese. It looks at the development of paper, printing, iron casting, gunpowder, and porcelain. In addition, the program examines the impact of Confucianism on the country's social order and culture. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, and Man on the Rim: Into the Deep Freeze.