Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part six, Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, examines the idea that the Asian Bronze Age occurred thousands of years earlier than scientists had once believed. The program explores this theory based on recent findings which demonstrate that Thailand, Vietnam, and other locations from Southeast Asia to Indonesia had developed authentic metal-working skills. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, Man on the Rim: Into the Deep Freeze, and Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple.