Man on the Rim: The Last Horizon (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part 11, Man on the Rim: The Last Horizon, examines the voyages of the Polynesian seafarers who explored and settled the Pacific. By 1,500 B.C., they began moving east of New Guinea. In time, they developed settlements in locations as distant as Hawaii, Tahiti, New Zealand, and Easter Island. Europeans eventually brought their culture to the island people; however, the Asian influence emerges as a vital force in the modern world. Other programs in the series are Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, and Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple.