Man on the Rim: Into the Deep Freeze (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part three, Man on the Rim: Into the Deep Freeze, explores the migration of early man from warm southeast Asia, Australia, and New Guinea, to frigid climates such as northern China, the Siberian tundra, and the Arctic. It examines the unique ways in which people in Soviet Siberia, the Aleutian Islands, and Alaska adapted to the cold and hostile environments they found themselves in. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, and Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple.