Man on the Rim: Hunters and Gatherers (1989)

Run Time - 60 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part four, Man on the Rim: Hunters and Gatherers, chronicles the settling of Australia. Descendents of the first people on the continent are known as aborigines, a word meaning "from the beginning." Nomadics, aborigines hunted using spears and boomerangs and gathered fruits, nuts, and yams for sustenance. The program looks at how aboriginal tribes made their homes in various regions and ways in which they adapted to their surroundings. Prior to the arrival of the first white settlers, about 220 years ago, there were 250 unique tribal groups. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, and Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple.