Man on the Rim: Flaming Arrows (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part four, Man on the Rim: Flaming Arrows, discusses the origin of North America's "Red Indian." Scientists speculate Siberian hunters, in pursuit of animals such as the woolly mammoth, migrated across ice sheets of the Bering Strait to Alaska. This event is thought to have occurred more than 20,000 years ago. Man on the Rim: Flaming Arrows examines the diverse cultures, habitats, arts, and crafts which developed from man's move from the Pacific Rim to America. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: First Footsteps, Man on the Rim: Roads Without Meals, and Man on the Rim: The Last Horizon.