Man on the Rim: First Footsteps (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part one, Man on the Rim: First Footsteps, introduces the series' theme. It examines the ancient movement of mankind from Asia into Pacific Ocean territories. It includes a look at those who migrated into Australia and the Americas. Archeologists think humans inhabited much of the Americas by the Pleistocene Epoch, thus beginning individual and unique cultures. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple, and Man on the Rim: Changing the Menu.