Man on the Rim: Changing the Menu (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 11-part series Man on the Rim chronicles the history of the Pacific Rim countries and addresses the contemporary significance of these nations as major players in world affairs. Pacific Rim countries include Australia, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Japan, Laos, and New Zealand. Part five, Man on the Rim: Changing the Menu, follows the movement of the Mongoloids south to the territory of the Australoids, which today is known as Indonesia, New Guinea, and Australia. It traces the development of horticulture, ending the nomadic period and marking the beginning of settled existence. Other programs in the series include Man on the Rim: The New Cutting Edge, Man on the Rim: The Powerhouse, and Man on the Rim: Pure and Simple.