Live From Austin TX: Sir Douglas Quintet (1981)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Music Show [TV], Vocal Music  |   Run Time - 59 min.  |   Countries - USA  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The Doug Sahm-led Sir Douglas Quintet, a groundbreaking music combo comprised of Sahm, Augie Meyers, Harvey Kagen, Frank Morin and John Perez, formed in the mid-sixties, melding country, rock, jazz, r&b, blues, conjunto and norteño roots into a distinctive tex mex sound. Surprisingly, given the group's sizzling stylistic innovation, it went largely unnoticed, save a cult following, before its 1972 split. Nonetheless, the group reunited for an appearance on PBS's weekly concert showcase, Austin City Limits, c. January 21, 1981. That hour-long program appears unexpurgated and uninterrupted in the home video issue, Live From Austin, Texas: Sir Douglas Quintet. In this reunion show, the Quintet performs seventeen hits. Highlights include "Down on the Border," "Tonite, Tonite," "Old Habits Die Hard," "You're Gonna Miss Me," "She's About a Mover,""Who Were You Thinkin' Of?" and "Who'll Be the Next in Line?"



country-rock, jazz, Norteño