Leonard Bernstein: Beethoven - String Quartet No. 16/Haydn - Missa in Tempore Belli (1990)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 93 min.  |   Countries - USA  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

This music release finds maestro Leonard Bernstein conducting two classic symphony performances. In the first set - mounted and filmed in 1989, less than a year before the eminent conductor's death - Bernstein leads the Vienna Philharmonic in a rendition of Beethoven's String Quartet op. 135. In the second, filmed at Ottobeuren in 1984, Bernstein conducts the Chor und Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in a performance of {$Joseph Haydn]'s Missa in tempore belli Hob. XXII: 9. Soloists in this set include bass Hans Sotin, tenor Claes H. Ahnsjö, contralto Brigitte Fassbaender and soprano Judith Blegen.



classical-music, concert, symphony