Legato: The World of the Piano - Roland Pontinen: Listening to Yourself (2007)

Run Time - 170 min.  |   Countries - United Kingdom   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The 'Legato' series of classical concert films rests on the thesis that a new generation of pianists are spearheading the re-popularization of the instrument with a unique and quintessentially 21st Century series of performances and interpretations. The series profiles these pianists one by one, showcasing their performances. This particular volume highlights the work of Swedish-born pianist Roland Pötinen, with his interpretations of nine key works from the classical canon. Selections include: François Couperin's Les Baricades mistérieuses, Jean-Philippe Rameau's Gavotte in A minor with Six Doubles, Maurice Ravel's Miroirs: Oiseaux tristes, and many more. The concert at hand was filmed live at the Ruhr Piano Festival on July 2, 2007.