Leaving Home, Vol. 4: 3 Journeys Through Dark Landscapes

Genres - History, Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music, Politics & Government, World History  |   Run Time - 50 min.  |   Countries - Germany, UK  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Orchestral guru Sir Simon Rattle conducts performances by the Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, to explore the effects of sociopolitical change on the compositions of Béla Bartók, Dmitri Shostakovich and Witold Lutoslawski in this 1996 concert film, Leaving Home vol. 4: Orchestral Music in the 20th Century - Three Journeys through Dark Landscapes, from ArtHaus Musik. In the process, Rattle discloses the extent to which these three composers adapted their music to the changing landscape around them, enabling such alterations to shape and give direction to their compositional evolution. Pieces include Bartók's Music for Strings,Bluebeard's Castle,Percussion and Celestaand Concerto For Orchestra; Shostakovich's Symphony No. 4,Symphony No. 5, andSymphony No. 14; and Lutoslawski's Symphony No. 3, Concerto For Orchestra, and Jeux Venetiens. Mezzo soprano vocalist Anne-Sophie Von Otter and bass vocalist Willard White provide accompaniment.



classical-music, conductor [music], political-change, revolution, symphony