Julia Fischer: The Four Seasons (2002)

Genres - Avant-garde / Experimental, Music  |   Sub-Genres - Instrumental Music, Natural Environments, Ambiance  |   Run Time - 105 min.  |   Countries - UK  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Shot live at the National Botanic Garden of Wales in 2002, The Four Seasons features the young violin prodigy Julia Fischer (only 19 at the time of this performance) and The Orchestra of the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields interpreting each movement of Antonio Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons" sequentially. This release gives the home viewer an option of a "director's cut" -- where the music is visually accompanied by outdoor images of the botanic garden as the seasons evolve, one into another -- or the "performance edit," with engaging concert footage of Fischer and the Orchestra of the Academy playing the piece live in the Garden's sleek postmodern dome, made entirely of glass and designed by Norman Foster.



classical-music, gardens, scenic-journey