Journey into Thailand: Lords of the Forest (1986)

Run Time - 29 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Journey Into Thailand is a seven-part series examining the people, traditions, sights, sounds, and unique beauty of the country known as "the Land of Smiles." Part two, Lords of the Forest, visits Thailand's valuable teak forests where the elephant remains a primary mode of transportation. Historically, this domesticated beast of burden was used widely in the country and its image graces Thai palaces and temples. Program highlights include an elephant festival, a tug of war between one elephant and 150 men, and a soccer game where the players are elephants. Other programs in the series are City of Angels -- Bangkok, Tales of Gods and Demons, The Other Thailand, Strength of the Land, The Middle Path, and The Long March South.