Johnny Griffin: The Jazz Life (1981)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts  |   Run Time - 55 min.  |   Countries - United Kingdom   |   MPAA Rating - NR
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Former Thelonious Monk Quartet tenor Johnny Griffin and explosive bebop alto saxophonist Richie Cole step on stage for a pair of vintage jazz performances captured live in 1981 by filmmaker Stanley Dorfman. After the Johnny Griffin Quartet performs the three original compositions "Blues for Gonzi", "A Monk's Dream", and "56", the Richie Cole Group steps up to perform "I Can't Get Started", "Punishment Blues", Charlie Parker's "Yard Bird Suite", "Hi Fly", "Red Top".



music, band [music group], clarinet, composer, jazz, performer, quartet, saxophone