Herbert Blomstedt: Bach Mass in B Minor/Beethoven Sympony No. 5 (2005)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 195 min.  |   Countries - United States   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

This musical performance release features two separate classical concerts. The first was mounted and filmed live at St. Thomas's Church in Leipzig on May 8, 2005. Maestro Herbert Blomstedt conducts the Gewandhaus Orchestra and Morten Schuldt-Jensen serves as the chorus master of the Gewandhaus Chamber Choir, in an interpretation of J.S. Bach's Mass in B Minor, BWV 232; soloists include tenor Christoph Genz and bass Dietrich Henschel. The second performance takes place at Leipzig's Church of St. Nicolai on October 9, 1999; it features an interpretation of several works by J.S. Bach, Felix Mendelssohn and Ludwig van Beethoven by The Gewandhaus Orchestra, again with Herbert Blomstedt conducting. In this set, the Thomaner Chor Leipzig provides vocal support; soloists include vocal soprano Nancy Argenta, violinist Viktoria Mullova and organist J├╝rgen Wolf.



classical-music, concert