Death & The Maiden: String Quartet No 14 D810

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 58 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Comprised of G√ľnter Pichler and Gerhard Schulz on violin, Thomas Kakuska on viola, and Valentin Erbin on cello, the Alban Berg Quartett claims a status as one of the world's preeminent string quartets, with record sales into the millions, a plethora of awards, and a history of performances in innumerable cities and festivals. In this release, Death & the Maiden: String Quartet No 14 D810, the quartet performs Franz Schubert's Quartet in D Minor also known as Death and the Maiden -- a work known for its overtones of grimness, desolation, and despair but nonetheless regarded as one of the composer's most accomplished pieces. The ensemble's approach is one of extreme formality and precision.