Czech Philharmonic Orchestra: Ma Vlast (1968)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 155 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

This tripartite classical release begins with the documentary Who Is Karel Ancerl?, on the life and work of the titular Czech conductor (1908-1973). It then includes two performances by the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, each one mounted at the Smetana Hall of Prague's Municipal House during the Prague Spring International Music Festival: a May 12, 1968 rendition of Czech composer Bedrich Smetana's symphonic poem cycle Má Vlast, and a May 28, 1966 performance of Ludwig van Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61.