Classic Archive: Sviatoslav Richter (1969)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 90 min.  |   Countries - United Kingdom   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

A classical performer best known as the first individual to premiere a Prokofiev piece other than Prokofiev himself, Russian-born concert pianist Sviatoslav Richter (1915-97) watched his reputation spread after Soviet officials permitted him to tour the west; he revealed adeptness with not only Prokofiev, but Schubert, Rachmaninov, Liszt and others. In this release - originally broadcast on the BBC in 1969 - Sviatoslav interprets a series of classical works. Selections include: Etude-Tableau in F sharp minor by Rachmaninov, Etudes, Op. 10 by Chopin, and several others.