Beetlejuice: Season 01 (1989)

Run Time - 30 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

The first season of the grotesquely hilarious animated series Beetlejuice originally aired weekly on ABC, and consists of 19 half-hour episodes, in which the hideously ugly, outrageously gross and stone-cold-dead con artist/prankster Beetlejuice, aka "BJ", made periodic visits to the surrealistic Neitherworld in the company of his mortal friend Lydia. This season offers our first glimpses of such other Neitherworld denizens as Judge Mental, the pesky Sandworms, the King and Queen of Gross, commercial pitchman Barry MeNot, Scuzzo the Clown and Beetlejuice's faithful pet, Doomie the DogBrained Cat. Typical adventures include B.J.'s public embarrassed when the skeletons in his closet come to life; the havoc wreaked by a walking tree who doesn't want to be cut down for a highway project; a dull Halloween livened up when BJ breaks open a can of Party People; a showdown with Neitherworld gunslinger Bully the Crud; BJ's unpleasant encounter with Pat on the Back, a leprechaun growing out of his shoulder blades; a cautionary fable of fame's fickleness when BJ hits the big time as an "armpit musician"; the curious courtship of Lydia by Neitherworld's Prince Vince; and a surprising encounter with Beetlejuice's ultra-ultra-ultra-ultra-ultra-ultra-conservative parents.