Alfred Brendel in Portrait (2001)

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Biography, Instrumental Music, Music History  |   Run Time - 155 min.  |   Countries - United Kingdom   |   MPAA Rating - NR
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Legendary pianist Alfred Brendel takes the stage to perform three classical works in this release of a performance captured live at Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Suffolk, UK, in July of 2000. Compositions featured in this release include Haydn's "Piano Sonata in E flat major, Hob. XVI/49," Mozart's "Piano Sonata in C minor K. 457," and Schubert's "Impromptu No. 3 in G flat, D. 899." An additional 70-minute documentary tracing Brendel's career from childhood to adulthood offers a closer look at the renowned pianist, and a 30-minute conversation in which Brendel and Sir Simon Rattle discuss Beethoven's Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 3 offers insight into two of the compositions that fueled Brendel's creativity.



pianist, career-retrospective, classical-music, composer, concert-footage, interview, poetry