The Heirloom (2005)

Genres - Horror  |   Sub-Genres - Psychological Thriller  |   Run Time - 96 min.  |   Countries - Taiwan  |   MPAA Rating - R
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

In the tradition of The Amityville Horror, The Changeling, and Poltergeist, the Chinese horror picture The Heirloom concerns a possessed mansion with an evil past. Twenty years prior to the outset of the story, the members of the Yang family -- all multimillionaires -- hung themselves at the same instant, suggesting influence by malevolent spirits or demons. One family member emerged from this pit of fire alive. When a familial descendant inherits the property, and moves in with his betrothed, all hell literally breaks loose. The spirits of the Yangs -- now bent on fury -- threaten to tear the man and his fiancée limb from limb and force the new master of the house to turn his gaze inward and face the evil that lingers in his own heart.

Characteristics

Keywords

curse, family, inheritance, mansion, millionaire, possession, suicide