The District (2000)

Run Time - 60 min.  |   Countries - United States   |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Craig T. Nelson stars as Jack Mannion, a policeman brought in to fight crime in the nation's capital in this television drama series. After a controversial but successful stint as chief of police in Newark, NJ, Mannion makes a positive impression on Deputy Mayor Mary Ann Mitchell (Jayne Brook) and is hired to do the same job in Washington, D.C. But the D.C. police's Chief of Patrol, Joe Noland (Roger Aaron Brown), isn't quite as impressed with his new boss, whose tough exterior is leavened with a broad sense of humor. Don Baker (John Amos), D.C.'s mayor, often butts heads with the new chief of police, who takes a firm stand against internal corruption and doesn't shrink from placing responsibility on his own officers. Working alongside Mannion are statistics clerk Ella Farmer (Lynn Thigpen), public affairs director Nick Pierce (Justin Theroux), and Irish beat-cop David McGregor (David O'Hara). The District premiered on the CBS television network on October 7, 2000.