Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2 - Lobgesang

Genres - Music  |   Sub-Genres - Concerts, Instrumental Music  |   Run Time - 121 min.  |  
  • AllMovie Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Share on

Soprano Anne Schwanewilms, soprano Petra-Maria Schitzer, and tenor Peter Seiffert are joined by the GewandhausChor and the Chor Der Oper Leipzig in staging the works of Felix Mendelssohn and Wolfgang Rihm in this release of a live performance captured at the Gewandhaus zu Leipzig in September of 2005. Works by Mendelssohn include the original 1826 version of "Overture to 'A Midsummer Night's Dream'", "Psalm 114", and the version of the 1840 world premier of "Symphony No. 2 'Lobgesang'", with a world premiere performance of Rihm's "Verwandlung" rounding out the impressive evening of music. In addition, this lavishly-staged performance also marks Riccardo Chailly's inaugural concert as Music Director of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.



performer, concert, soprano [voice], tenor, classical-music